There Are Chametz Concerns with Gluten Free Flour!

1 Nissan 5774
April 1, 2014

According to the Badatz Eida Chareidis, there are chametz concerns surrounding gluten free flour on Pesach. In the badatz’s Pesach Guide 5774 on beginning on page 25 it states;

Over recent years we are witness to an increase in the number of people that refrain from ingesting gluten with or without a connection to celiac disease. In the past the disease was a serious one but today there are many gluten free substitutes in the marketplace.

Items made without gluten are marked “ppm20” which translates to 0.0000002% parts gluten among the ingredients.

While it is widely believed that non-gluten flour is kosher for Pesach without concerns, this is simply not so. To remove any confusion regarding this matter, most flour sold as “gluten free” is in essence different starches produced on the basis of potato starch, rice, soya, buckwheat or corn, with the latter ones being kitnios.

There is also non-gluten flour produced from wheat, which is one of the five grains and to remove the gluten which is an integral component of the wheat, the wheat is washed with a great deal of water and this leads to chametz process as the wheat begins to ferment and the resulting flour is chametz in every sense of the word.

 

One comment

  • Nechama
    April 5, 2014 - 22:17 | Permalink

    Very true. However, your statement about some flours is not exact. Pure brown rice GF flour is pure brown rice (nutricious) not a starch. Almond (or other nut flours) is not a starch, but pure ground nuts. Buckwheat GF flour is from a vegetable family and a truly nutricious food, not a starch. With ref to corn, this IS sold as a starch. Like with all foods, one needs to be wise about their choices by educating oneself about their properties and nutritional content. Commercial producers of GF products are not as scrupulous.

  • Comments are closed.