Information from Badatz Eida Chareidit (Post Pesach Part 1)

24 Nissan 5772

April 16, 2012

eida-chareidit4The following information is taken from the badatz’s Kashrut Guide 62, Nissan 5772. The guide pertains to badatz certified items during the year with the exclusion of Pesach.

The order is the same order information appears in the guide.

1.Soup powder contains some uncooked ingredients so it may not be added to heated items above ‘yad soledes bo’ on Shabbos.

2.Cocoa powder contains some uncooked ingredients so it may not be added to heated items above ‘yad soledes bo’ on Shabbos.

3.Rice packaged in a vacuum may be presumed insect free and does not require inspection. One wishing to be ‘mehudar’ (exceeding the required) may perform a superficial inspection however.

4.There is no fear of aluminum pans having a coating of non kosher oil for as long as they exhibit the badatz logo.

5.Items that are imported will state יבול חו”ל such as canned pineapple products.

6.Regarding coated nuts known as “kabukim” – the bracha is barei minai mezonot. However, the nut is not included in the measure towards a ‘shiur’ and regarding the after bracha, it depends if one ate a shiur of the coating in the time period known as ‘b’chdei acilas pras’, for if not, the after bracha is borei nefashot.

7.The bracha for corn flavored Bisli is shehakol.

8.Regarding frozen or powdered eggs they undergo a rigid inspection to ensure there is no blood. There is also no fear of linat leila (לינת לילה). As a general rule regarding blood in eggs, the brown eggs are more problematic.

9.Regarding hard cheeses sold in chunks or sliced. If one buys from shopkeepers, one must make certain the knife used is exclusive for this product and that it is kosher and was toiveled.

10.Generally speaking, after eating hard cheese, one should wait 6 hours unless there is a directive stating otherwise on the package.

11.Regarding ice cream cones or the cones of the ‘glida chama’ product. One makes a bracha of shehakol on the ice cream and no bracha on the cone since its function is to hold the ice cream. However, regarding ice cream sandwiches and the cookie at the bottom of a crembo, they are mezonot and require their own bracha. One should make the mezonot bracha first.

12.Gelatin is manufactured from scales of kosher fish. Gelatin is often found in candies. Gelatin found in the general marketplace is manufactured from bones and hides of treif animals.

13.Fish used in gefilte fish are inspected and determined to be worm free. Each fish is inspected to determine it is a kosher species. There is also rigid supervision regarding blood in eggs used and that the eggs and onions are not left out over night (לינת לילה).

14.Regarding barley, there is no fear of ‘chodosh’.

15.Granola – ingredients are inspected to make certain they are insect free. It is recommended that one inspects it again before use since there may be contamination during the storage period. Regarding the bracha, one should separate the ingredients and make separate brachot. If the granola is made from oats, raisins and dried fruit – the product is not cooked but roasted (קליה) and therefore, even though there may be a mix of some of the 5 grains, the bracha is NOT mezonos but we follow the majority, which is toasted oats, hence ‘borei pri ha’adoma’. Some companies do cook the oats, and if that is the case, the bracha is ‘mezonos’.

16.Honey is not cooked, simply warmed slightly. Therefore, it may NOT be added to a cooked heated item that is ‘yad soledes bo’.

12 Comments

  • Ariela Sher
    April 16, 2012 - 18:31 | Permalink

    THAnk Youfor your ongoing work for clal yisrael!

  • RABBI YD WEBSTER
    April 16, 2012 - 18:42 | Permalink

    YOU STATE THAT Generally speaking, after eating hard cheese, one should wait 6 hours unless there is a directive stating otherwise on the package.

    IN ERETZ YISROEL WHICH HARD CHEESES ARE CONSIDERED AS HARD

    YECHIEL: I have heard different opinions. I suggest you consult with your rav to determine how you should conduct yourself. Remember, what is written here is the view of the Badatz Eida Chareidit pertaining to the yellow (hard) cheeses under its supervision.

  • Chava
    April 16, 2012 - 19:01 | Permalink

    I’m confused: since when do we wait between cheese and meat? I have learned that one simply needs to rinse one’s mouth.

    YECHIEL: There is a requirement to wait between cheese and meat if the cheese in question is halachically considered “hard cheese”. We use the term referring to the square yellowish/whiteish cheeses, but they are not all the same from a halachic point of view. It has to do with a number of factors including how long a cheese is aged.

    I suggest consulting with your rav to determine how to conduct yourself. One should not view the articles on the website other than an information source to prompt one to question and learn, as we are doing here.

  • Michael
    April 16, 2012 - 22:09 | Permalink

    On #1 and #2 wouldn’t using a kli shlishi eliminate any problem?

  • EG
    April 16, 2012 - 22:21 | Permalink

    Re Hard cheeses- Last I checked, a couple of yrs back, there was no Mehadrin aged cheese in Eretz Yisroel. Some have the mistaken notion that modern methods cause cheese to reach the status of aged cheese faster, but actually the difference isn’t more than a few days or a week and true aged cheese still takes time. I’ve heard in Yerushalayim it seems the Badatz calls all “hard” yellow cheese as aged since this was the hardest cheese they had…??

    Re the cooking on Shabbos issues these are all changes from the past; one should check with individual manufacturers. Where I am Mashgiach the honey is certainly cooked…

    Re chodosh in the past barley was an issue; not sure re the general heter. Best to ask Rav Yosef Herman in Monsey

    Re Hilchos brachos items some of these are debatable; one should ask one’s own Rav.

  • David
    April 16, 2012 - 22:43 | Permalink

    In 11, concerning the cookie at the bottom of a crembo, it is interesting they say that this has to have its own beracha. Why can they not say it is taphel [subsidiary] to the main part like the ice cream cone is to the ice cream?

    This seems more intuitive to me, and so is my possibility also a valid halachic position? (Also it seems to be a very awkward way of eating crembo if one has to say boray minay mezonot first.)

  • Esther
    April 17, 2012 - 00:54 | Permalink

    Is there anyway to work towards having the BDTZ Eida Charedis “book” (Kashrus Guide) translated into English going forward or at least certain sections?

  • YDL
    April 17, 2012 - 11:06 | Permalink

    Acording to the Eida hard yellow cheese needs 6 hours, what about the cheese that is used on pizza ? Is that not the same cheese ? Would one not have to wait 6 hrs after pizza ?

  • Izzy Broker
    April 17, 2012 - 12:53 | Permalink

    What brocha does one make on granola cookies?

  • Laser
    April 17, 2012 - 20:49 | Permalink

    “Soup powder contains some uncooked ingredients so it may not be added to heated items above ‘yad soledes bo’ on Shabbos.”

    Which soup powder? There is the type that needs cooking and the type that just needs hot water added. Which ingredients are uncooked?

    “Cocoa powder contains some uncooked ingredients so it may not be added to heated items above ‘yad soledes bo’ on Shabbos.”

    Is the reference to pure cocoa powder or to the prepared powder that contains sugar and other things and just requires the addition of milk or water? Which are the uncooked ingredients?

    The list contains many hiddushim, inlcuding where the metzi’ut has not changed in decades.

  • David
    April 18, 2012 - 23:02 | Permalink

    Re the question of Izzy Broker – April 17, 2012 at 12:53
    Why should it not be mezonot?

  • Tsvi Rogin
    April 24, 2012 - 08:51 | Permalink

    Regarding Barley:

    Barley grown in the USA is generally chodosh after a certain date in the late summer or early fall, date determined each year.

    I believe that every reliable hechsher takes full responsibility for the yoshon/chodosh of Israeli produce because that is a question of a d’praysa (dare I say it) according to all opinions.

    I believe that the Eida is here saying that they take responsibility for the yoshon status of any barley products under their supervision, whether from Erets Yisroel barley or chutz la’aretz barley.

    I believe that they also claim to take responsibility for the yoshon status of all products under their supervisions, i.e. oats and wheat also (spelt and rye from the US at least not being a problem). Yechiel, could you please check this for us?

    Tsvi Rogin

  • Comments are closed.