Candies by the Kilogram – Not as Mehadrin as they Appear

tatoo-2For those of you buying candies in Machane Yehuda Shuk or elsewhere by the kilogram, be advised that not everything being billed as mehadrin is actually such.  I believe I mentioned in ‘shuk tours’ that one buying at the numerous candy shops must check the hechsher of each and every item. 

I went to a number of vendors and I was told “everything is badatz” and was given some bags from the candies to verify the claim. I took the empty bags with me and did some research on my own.

The Tatoo candies, which represents many if not most of the loose candies and jelly-type items sold by weight, are under the supervision of the Sderot Rabbinate. I confirmed this today (Sept. 10, 2009) as accurate with the folks at the Sderot Religious Council.

The wording on the bag led me to believe that both the gelatin and the product are under the mehadrin supervision of Kashrut Division of London Beis Din (KLBD), which I learned it is not. While KLBD has not authorized putting anything on the bag, “they have done nothing wrong” officials at KLBD explain, since it bag states the “parve gelatin is under KLBD supervision”, which it is.

The wording may lead us to assume the entire product is mehadrin KLBD since the gelatin is purchased from a company certified by KLBD. In short, the statement is deceptive, misleading perhaps.

Hence, the product is under the regular kosher supervision of the Sderot Rabbinate and it contains KLBD approved parve gelatin. Therefore, we cannot make the claim that these candies are mehadrin, as many are led to believe. Indeed, the candies have a legitimate kosher certification, but that does not grant them mehadrin status.

IMPORTANT: To avoid any confusion, KLBD asks me to stress the kashrut organization assumes no responsibility for the statement on the bag or the kashrus of the product in question since it is not under its supervision. Upon last inspection, the KLBD representative in Israel did confirm the gelatin used was indeed from a firm under KLBD certification but that is the extent of the KLBD’s involvement.

My personal thanks to KLBD for the organization’s willingness to assist — providing immediate and comprehensive responses to kashrut inquiries towards improving kashrus in Eretz Yisrael.




  • r.klatzko
    September 11, 2009 - 00:14 | Permalink

    there are also tatoo jellies that have tthe hashgacha of dayan westheim

  • Milhouse
    September 15, 2009 - 20:31 | Permalink

    This is ridiculous. Why would anyone assume that the candy is under the LBD supervision?? And even if someone were to assume that, WHAT ON EARTH would mislead ANYONE to think that it’s mehadrin? Since when is the LBD a mehadrin supervision? Where is “mehadrin” mentioned ANYWHERE on the label? You are simply making things up, building fantasy on fantasy in order to create a problem and imply that a business is somehow doing something wrong. You do this a lot, and it’s not right.

  • Yodea Dovor
    September 16, 2009 - 13:51 | Permalink

    Response to Milhouse: Since when is LBD not Mehadrin?

    I live abroad and LBD is not only known as “Mehadrin” but is one of the leading hechsherim in Europe.
    If you ask anyone in the kashrus field they will tell you that almost every Kosher certified product contains at least one or two ingredients certified by the LBD.

  • Yodea Dovor
    September 16, 2009 - 13:57 | Permalink

    (Please add on to previous comment)
    My personal feeling is that Yechiel Spira is doing an invaluable service to klal yisroel by spreading kashrus awareness. Tizke L’mitvos, Yechiel.

  • Dovi
    September 16, 2009 - 21:05 | Permalink

    Yodea Dovor & Millhouse

    The LBD certifies both Mehadrin and non-Mehdrin products. In any case it is well respected in the Kashrus field.

  • Milhouse
    September 17, 2009 - 20:30 | Permalink

    “Yodea Dovor”, everyone knows that LBD is absolutely NOT a mehadrin hechsher. It is a basic hechsher, just like the Israeli Rabbanut. Anyone who sees the LBD’s name on something and therefore assumes it’s kosher limhadrin is an idiot. The LBD approves cholov-hacompanies, gelatin from treife animals, and all sorts of other things that mehadrin tend to avoid. If the LBD certifies something as kosher limhadrin, it will say so explicitly, just as the Israeli Rabbanut will.

    Dovi, did anyone suggest the LBD was not respected? What did you add to the discussion?

  • Dovi
    September 18, 2009 - 10:37 | Permalink

    Milhouse, Many people may assume that if an agency is not Mehadrin its not reliable which is incorrect in this case. In addition you repeat your statement “everyone knows that LBD is absolutely NOT a mehadrin hechsher” is inaccurate as they certify both, only at the end of the paragraph do you somewhat clarify this. Also the rabbanut mehdrin are generaly run seperatlhy to the regualer rabbanut and the setup is not exaclty comparible to LBD.

    I was also correcting Yodea Dovor who said LBD was Mehadrin which is incorrect as well.

  • Paul
    September 18, 2009 - 15:42 | Permalink


    Please can you tell me any products where the LBD approves gelatin from treife animals?
    Also, the LBD do not write mehadrin on any of their products. It only has the KLBD logo

  • Sholem
    September 20, 2009 - 23:32 | Permalink

    I read this report differently – the shop owner claimed that all the sweets sold at his stand were “BADATZ” – Yechiel showed that this does not necessarily mean Mehadrin – case closed

    What does Badatz mean apart from Beis Din Tzedek? somewhat ambiguous – just check the Hechsher as Yechiel correctly pointed out

  • Dovi
    September 21, 2009 - 13:10 | Permalink


    I have seen mehadrin on a few LBD products. I think these products are generally made by a Jewish company and only sold to the Jewish community and have a different symbol on the products to the one you see on products sold to the general community.

    Just to add that LBD have stricter standards for functions, bakeries and most restaurants e.g. cholov yisrael.

  • Yodea Dovor
    September 21, 2009 - 17:41 | Permalink

    Leaving LBD at the side for a moment and taking one step back.

    Can someone out there provide a clear definition of a “Mehadrin Hechsher”?

    Does this mean Mashgiach T’midi? If yes, would this be at the last stage of production, or on all the raw products or perhaps only the sensitive ones?
    Does this mean the Magiach who is T’midi has to be shomer torah umitzvos or does he have to be a ben Torah? Or?
    Does this mean that the Mashgiach actually understands something about factories/food-production and ingredients and has been trained or is a Bochur that is burned out of learning sufficient?
    Perhaps it means that if they cater to the larger (or may I dare – more lenient) community and certify Non-chalav Yisroel, then their other products – even with a ben-torah mashgiach tmidi that understands factories/food-production and ingredients stay as non-mehadrin!?

    Or perhaps “Mehadrin” is not a label stating that a product is actually reliable rather it is an emotional label that the “Oilem” eat based on the “yeshivishe” equivalent of advertising and marketing that the hechsher achieves.

    If “Mehadrin” is based on certain guidelines and facts, then we need to list them and research the LBD or any other hechsher for that matter, if they adhere to these guidelines or not.
    On the other hand if “Mehadrin” is an emotional yeshivishe term to validate something that the “oilem” accepts based on the “oilem” accepting, then we need to research the “oilem”!!

  • Comments are closed.